A form change poem

(with thanks to David Bouchard, “If You’re Not From the Prairie . . . )

 

If you’re not from Texas,

You don’t know food!

You just can’t know food.

You can’t know the blazing hot ribs and chicken,

The amazing peanuts.

If you’re not from Texas,

You don’t know food.

 

If you’re not from Texas,

You don’t know spiders.

Believe me, you don’t know spiders!

You don’t know how many spiders there are,

Being sneaky and crawling through the rooms.

They stay in corners hiding.

Once they come out,

You go crazy and scream

And run out of the room.

If you’re not from Texas,

You just don’t know spiders.

 

You see,

My feet are the concrete walkways on the street,

My heart is the thunder booming

And shouting across the sky.

My arms are the long guns.

My legs are the plants that wave in the wind.

I love my home, Texas.

One thought on “If You’re Not From Texas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *